Washington State Historical Society
Nomination deadline: 5/1/2019

These awards honor achievements in 2018 and prior years. Awards will be presented at the Washington State Historical Society Annual Meeting on September 21, 2019.
See awards categories below. You can download a nomination form at http://www.washingtonhistory.org/about/awards/ and if you need more information please contact MaryMikel Stump at MaryMikel.Stump@wshs.wa.gov or 253-798-5878.
David Douglas Award
Recognizes the significant contribution of an individual or an organization through projects, exhibits, digital presentations or programs such as documentaries, apps, websites or blogs, educational products or any other vehicle that informs or expands our appreciation of any field of Washington State history during the previous year. No book nominations permitted.
Robert Gray Medal
The highest award bestowed by the Washington State Historical Society, the Robert Gray Medal recognizes the distinguished and long-term contributions to Pacific Northwest history through demonstrated excellence in one or more of the following areas: teaching, writing, research, historic preservation, and service to local historical societies.
Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching History
Presented to an outstanding certified teacher of Pacific Northwest history in an accredited K-12 school in Washington, or to a nonprofit organization. The awards committee welcomes nominations of persons who demonstrate effective teaching by any measure of excellence. This may include, but is not limited to the use and development and an innovative curriculum, consistent effectiveness in utilizing Pacific Northwest history in either the classroom or the community over an extended period of time, the advancement of Pacific Northwest history as a field of academic inquiry, a lasting impact on students, the u se or development of innovative technology, and the encouragement of Pacific Northwest themes in history Day presentations. The award includes $750 and a Gold Star of recognition.
Peace and Friendship Awards
Two of these awards are given each year:
• Presented to a Native American who has advanced public understanding of the cultural diversity of the peoples of Washington State.
• Presented to an individual who has advanced public understanding of the cultural diversity of the peoples of Washington State.