Nominations Open for NEA National Heritage Fellowships

National Endowment for the Arts
Submission deadline: 5/31/2022

To honor and preserve our nation’s diverse cultural heritage, the NEA annually awards up to nine National Heritage Fellowships to master folk and traditional artists, inclusive of one Bess Lomax Hawes Fellowship (described below). These fellowships recognize artistic excellence, lifetime achievement, and contributions to our nation’s traditional arts heritage.
Nominees must be worthy of national recognition and have a record of continuing artistic accomplishment. They must be actively participating in their art form, either as practitioners or as teachers.
The designation of a Bess Lomax Hawes National Heritage Fellowship will be awarded to an individual who has made major contributions to the excellence, vitality, and public appreciation of the folk and traditional arts. The nominee should be worthy of national recognition and must be actively engaged in perpetuating the folk and traditional arts.
Awards for the National Heritage Fellowships (inclusive of the Bess Lomax Hawes Fellowship) will be up to $25,000, and may be received once in a lifetime.
For more information on how to submit a nomination, as well as to access the nomination guidelines in Spanish, please visit our website at: You can also access our archived, “How to Make a Nomination” webinar, here:
For questions, contact Cheryl Schiele at
Less is More - Get Out & ExploreCheck it out